Meyerhoff Excellence Awards for Leadership, Service and Scholarship


The Meyerhoff Undergraduate Excellence Awards for Leadership, Service and Scholarship recognize students who have made outstanding leadership and service contributions to the University and/or the surrounding communities while maintaining a record of academic excellence. The awards are named after our benefactor, Harvey “Bud” Meyerhoff from Baltimore, Maryland. Mr. Meyerhoff, a successful businessman and philanthropist, is a 1948 graduate of UW–Madison.


Recipients receive $1,000 and are honored at a reception at the end of the spring semester, attended by family, friends, and Dean of Students Lori Berquam.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

Students must be juniors or seniors currently enrolled at UW–Madison. Recipients are selected by the following academic and student affairs organizations, including the schools/colleges and student governance. The awarding organizations are listed below. Each organization has its own application and selection process.

Awarding Organizations

  • Associated Students of Madison
  • Center for Leadership and Involvement
    CFLI – Fraternity
    CFLI – Sorority
    CFLI – Student Organization
  • Center for the First Year Experience
  • College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Letters & Science
  • Dean of Students Office
  • International Student Services
  • LGBT Campus Center
  • McBurney Disability Resource Center
  • Morgridge Center for Public Service
  • Multicultural Student Center
  • Recreational Sports
  • School of Business
  • School of Education
  • School of Human Ecology
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Pharmacy
  • University Housing
  • Veteran Services & Military Assistance
  • Wisconsin Union

Previous Meyerhoff Scholars